Hey, Readers! Would you like to take a survey?

Authors do a lot more than write. We do research for our books. We search for the best ways to market our masterpieces. We constantly look for ways to reach more readers. But most of all, we wonder.

photo of nervous young woman

Image courtesy of David Castillo Dominici / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

What do readers really want? Are we doing it right, or will we drive readers away with our efforts to connect with them?

In case you didn’t know, authors can be a really insecure bunch. If we could, most of us would lock ourselves away and write all day, every day, but in addition to real life getting in the way, we have an innate desire to connect with readers and make them happy. That’s one of the reasons we write — to give readers entertaining stories they’ll love to read over and over.

illustration of man leaning against clipboard with checked boxes

Image courtesy of Stuart Miles / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

That’s where the Reader Survey comes in. From April 13-20, 2014, you (the reader) get to tell authors what you really want. You also get to tell them what you love and what you hate about their efforts to connect with you. It may not feel like it sometimes, but the publishing business is all about readers. Without you, we authors would be out of a job and devastated that we couldn’t share our stories with you.

So, please take pity on us insecure authors and share your opinions on the Reader Survey. It’s completely anonymous, so be please honest, even if you think your opinion won’t go over well. Sometimes the truth hurts, but we authors can’t learn what you love or hate about our efforts if you don’t tell us!

Click here to take the survey

In conjunction with the Reader Survey, I’m running a giveaway on my Facebook page. Entering is super easy. All you have to do is share the survey and let me know in a comment on the pinned post. Full details (including the prizes) can be found on my author page: https://www.facebook.com/pages/EA-West/34280264617

Thanks for helping make this survey a success!

About E.A. West

I'm an author of inspirational and other G-rated romance. When I'm not writing, I feed my yarn addiction by seeking out new crochet and knitting projects. Some of my other hobbies include reading and reviewing, gardening, and playing with my dogs. Connect with me on Google+, Facebook, and Twitter.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous, Publishing, Uncategorized, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hey, Readers! Would you like to take a survey?

  1. Great survey. I think surveying readers is a good idea. I am both a writer and a reader, so I hope you don’t mind that I took the survey. I believe it may have allowed me to be objective about my own marketing/blog/writing, so thanks for the opportunity! I’d love to know the summary results. I hope you’ll share them on your blog!

  2. Elizabeth, wonderful idea and survey. Twitted and shared on FB. Hopefully, readers will be honest and share.

Leave a Reply

