Some things never change.

One thing that will never cease to amaze me as an author is that every submission is still a nerve-wracking experience. Writing the synopsis, polishing the manuscript to a high shine, writing the query letter are all easier than the first time I tried my hand at submitting something, but waiting to hear back from the publisher or agent is still a nail-biting time. Those lovely what ifs come out in full force, just like they did before my first piece was published.

What if it’s not as good as I thought? What if I didn’t make that one section flow as well as it needed to? What if I completely bombed the query?

I’ve learned through the years that once the submission is sent, you have to let it go and accept whatever the outcome happens to be. I still learn from each rejection, and most of them don’t sting as much as they used to. I’ve been at this long enough to know everyone has a reason for rejecting my submission; it’s my job to learn what I can, apply it to my writing if I can, and move on to the next submission.

But despite this much more laid back attitude than when I first started writing, I still deal with nerves every time I submit. Two questions always float through my mind about a million times a day while I wait for a response: Will I get a yes? Will I get a no?

My worrying won’t change the answer, so my best bet for surviving the wait is to work on the next project in my queue. Every author and would-be author finds a way to keep from driving themselves crazy while waiting for a response. And every author and would-be author eventually comes to accept that rejection is a part of the writer’s life. You roll with it, learn what you can, and move on.

And now, since I’m starting to go in circles, it’s time to move on to something else…like finishing that last bit of polishing before I send off my submission. Here’s to hoping for good news!

Have a great Tuesday, everyone, and don’t forget to check out the Summer Treasure Hunt. There are still plenty of prizes waiting to be won!

Leave a Reply

