The work never stops…

Note: Only three more days in the Summer Treasure Hunt! Be sure to get your entries in for the remaining prizes. Now, on to the post. 🙂

Okay, when you look at the calendar and nearly every day is full, you know your life is busy. When you look at this intimidating list and realize it’s all for book promotion,  you wonder how you’re ever going to find time to write your next novel. My solution? Weekends and late nights.

I’ll admit I’m not the greatest at scheduling and organization. This comes as no surprise to anyone who knows me. Yet the only real trouble I have with this lack of organizational skill is promotion. If I need to post something to six different groups in one day (and yes, there are days like that), I end up writing each email right before I send it. That eats up huge chunks of time and can take over an hour just for those few emails.

This irresponsible use of time has bothered me for a while, so I decided to take the holiday weekend to see if I could get more organized. After five hours with a calendar and the rules for twenty or so groups (not to mention the lists of scheduled chats, excerpt days, etc.), I had an intimidating schedule that still needs some tweaking. I also hold even more firmly to the belief that organization and planning ahead are the key to author survival, which means I have some promotional material to write, a schedule to work on, and some planning to do.

So, this week, in addition to chatting with The Sweetest Romance Authors at the Coffee Time Romance Forums this Thursday, I’ll be working on all of that so hopefully next week I’ll look at that calendar with confidence and only spend fifteen to twenty minutes on sending promo emails. Because the less time I waste due to lack of organization is more time I’ll have to work on one of my favorite parts of being an author: writing.

Leave a Reply

