When a busy life gets even busier…

You know I’m an author, working on various fiction projects. If you’ve been reading this blog long enough, you also know I do a little editing from time to time. In recent weeks, I’ve added a couple more things to the list. There’s a new site called KnowABit that I now write for. I only have three articles up so far, but I’m hoping to add at least one more in the next few days.

The biggest thing I’ve added to my life is that I’m now a college student. I’m in a program for working adults, which means all of my classes are accelerated. I’m in the second week of my first class, and while it’s keeping me busy, I love it. That’s not to say there aren’t some parts I could do without, like the section that taught me how to do research (research is something every author I know does on a regular basis), but on the whole I’m learning more than I expected from this required how-to-succeed-in-college/orientation class. My classmates are awesome, my instructor rocks (he’s answered every question we throw at him, no matter how silly it seems), and the material is mostly interesting.

To be honest, I was a little worried about starting college now. I mean, I’m not exactly fresh out of high school–and no, I’m not going to tell you how long ago I graduated. 🙂 But there’s also the fact that I struggled with school all throughout my childhood and teen years because of learning disabilities. Becoming a writer and freelance editor, and all the work it took to learn the skills for those vocations, helped me overcome a lot of the challenges my learning disabilities caused. It also helped me build confidence in my abilities. After a week and a half of class, I now believe I CAN succeed in college.

I’m sure some of you are wondering if my experience is affected by my autism. I know it is, but that’s part of the fun. Learning to work around my challenges in order to succeed helps me grow as a person and as a lifelong learner, something that would make my current instructor happy since he’s determined to see us all become successful lifelong learners.

All in all, my life is an adventure right now, one I’m enjoying immensely. For anyone who may be worried that I’ll stop writing while I’m a college student, I can assure you that’s not the case. My writing may slow down a bit, depending on how much study time I have to put in for a given class. But for now, I’m getting quite a bit of writing done. Actually, I’m taking a break from my latest manuscript to write this post.

Life always seems to be a bit of a juggling act to accomplish everything we want/need to. I’m learning a lot about priorities and time management as I go, which are much needed skills in life. We’ll see what happens as time goes on, but for now, I’m happy with where I’m at, optimistic about the future, and confident this is where I’m supposed to be. Yes, life is looking pretty good right now.

Leave a Reply

