New Year, New Possibilities

This is the first week of 2011, and possibilities abound for what this year holds. Last year was a mix of good and bad for me, but isn’t every year like that? The two most exciting events for me were the release of Riley’s Mission, my first romantic suspense, and starting college. 2011 is already off to a good start. I made my first submission of the year yesterday (and, yes, I’m nail-biting while I wait for a response), and I have two out of three books I need for research for a sweet romance.

Of course, this year also promises to be a busy one. My classes are going to take up a lot of my time, plus I plan to keep writing and submitting, which will hopefully lead to contracts and edits. So while this may be one of my busiest years, I’m looking forward to all the good things that will take up any spare time. Oh, and I plan to do more knitting as time and my yarn supply allow. There’s something relaxing about the repetitive motion of knitting, the yarn flowing through my fingers, the satisfaction of seeing a project completed.

In years past, I’ve posted New Year’s resolutions. Unfortunately, like so many other people, I tend to get overly ambitious with my resolutions and realize after a couple of months that my goals were unrealistic. So this year, I have precisely one resolution, and it’s one I know I can keep. I resolve in 2011 to do my absolute best at whatever I’m working on, whether it’s a manuscript, a knitting project, a college course, or cleaning house.

That said, I do have plans for rewriting a couple of manuscripts and writing others as time allows. There is a lot I want to accomplish this year in terms of my writing career, but I know that if I set my goals too high or put too much pressure on myself trying to achieve them, I won’t get nearly as much done. So, I’ll just keep plugging away at the work I need to do, pursue new opportunities if I can, and look back at the end of this year and hopefully see that I’ve accomplished much.

What resolutions and/or goals do you have for 2011? Is there anything you’d like to see happen this year, including any changes you’d like to see to this blog? I’m always open to suggestions. 🙂

Leave a Reply

