Happy Thanksgiving!

It’s Thanksgiving here in the United States. For many, this means a big family dinner with roast turkey and all the trimmings. For others, it means spending the day with friends. Still others may attend a community Thanksgiving dinner or volunteer at one.

Regardless of how you spend the day, however, the most important part of Thanksgiving is remembering to give thanks. What should one give thanks for? That is up to each individual. It could be something big, like having an awesome family. It could be something small, like the sun shining. Every person will have their own things to be thankful for. Here are a few of mine, in no particular order.

My family. They are so supportive of me and encourage me to do my best in everything. When something goes wrong, I know I can count on them.

My puppy. The day I adopted that little Rottweiler (possibly whippet) mix is one of the happiest I can remember. Paisley has done so much for me that I will always be thankful for.

God’s love and mercy. Without God’s help, I would never have gotten to this point in my life as successfully as I have. He has given me strength and comfort through countless situations, and I can never thank Him enough for His forgiveness.

The time and courage to participate in NaNaWriMo. For years, I’ve wanted to participate in this month-long writing challenge, but life or a WIP always got in the way. This year, however, I finally had the time and the idea for a new novel necessary to participate. Encouragement from friends and family gave me the necessary courage to participate.

A seemingly never-ending supply of story ideas. As an author, I’m always thinking about the next story, the next characters, the next plot twist. I am so thankful for the creativity God blessed me with and that I’m able to channel it into fiction.

The list of things I am thankful for could go on forever. Hopefully, your list is just as long or longer. Regardless of length, however, remember to be thankful at all times, not just on Thanksgiving. After all, a thankful heart is a happy heart.

If you’re in the United States, have a happy Thanksgiving! If you’re in another part of the world, have a wonderful Thursday.

Leave a Reply

