Guest Blogger: Author Lillian Duncan

Please welcome my fellow Pelican Book Group author Lillian Duncan!

Lillian Duncan lives in Ohio with her husband, four parrots, one Jack Russell, and a Cavalier King Charles Spaniel. She’s been a Speech Pathologist for over thirty years.

She writes the types of books she loves to read, suspense with a touch of romance. Her first book was published in 2004. DECEPTION is her fifth novel.
~~

Writing Stories of Faith…Mingled With Murder And Mayhem

Really? Christian Fiction and murder/suspense novels. On the surface the two don’t seem to go together. After all, how can a book where murders, mayhem, and bad guys abound promote Christian values?

Oooh. Oooh. My hand’s raised. I know the answer to the question. Pick me. Pick me.

Real life isn’t all sweetness and fluff. It would be nice if it was, but, alas, it’s not. Life can be difficult, sometimes because of our choices and sometimes through no fault of our own. Jesus even warns us that we will have troubles.

So, that’s what I do. I write about the troubles—the more trouble the better. Then I show my characters learning and growing from their adversity. I show their faith becoming stronger in spite of the difficult circumstances they find themselves in.

How do I pick the spiritual message of my story?

I don’t usually know what the spiritual message is when I begin writing a new novel, but that’s not surprising to me. I am what they call a seat of the pants type writer, meaning I don’t outline and I don’t know what’s going to happen from one moment to the other in my story. That’s what makes writing fun for me!  I may have an idea where the story is going but it’s always subject to change.

For example in my new book, when I started writing DECEPTION all I knew was that the main character (Patti) was estranged from her twin sister to the point of not knowing she had a niece. I didn’t know why they were estranged, but once I discovered that the missing twin was the reason Patti’s wedding was canceled years earlier, the theme of forgiveness quickly took root as part of the story.

Most of the time the spiritual message of my book slowly reveals itself as I learn more about my characters and their lives. Sometimes, it’s only a whisper in the first draft but it gets stronger with each subsequent draft.

Jesus used stories to teach Biblical truths. We call them parables. He knew that people naturally respond to a story and are willing to learn from someone else’s problems rather than an in-your-face approach.

When readers identify with the characters of the book, they feel their joy, their hope, and their pain. If they feel Patti’s despair about not forgiving someone she loved when she had the chance, they might decide to call that mother, brother, or friend they’ve been angry at for some time.

At least, that’s my hope.

~~

Deception cover artTitle: Deception

Author: Lillian Duncan

Publisher: Pelican Book Group

Book Description:

Twins are supposed to have an unbreakable bond, but Patti and Jamie have serious relationship issues. They haven’t spoken since Jamie ruined Patti’s upcoming nuptials years ago. When a niece she knows nothing about telephones, Patti must unravel the yarn of Jamie’s life and her mysterious disappearance. Detective Carter Caldwell takes his job seriously, and it’s his job to keep Patti and her niece safe. But Patti is determined to help find her sister. As the investigation grows more dangerous, Carter begrudgingly admits the safest place for Patti is at his side. Each step in their journey leads them closer to the truth but pulls them further down a road filled with danger and deception, where each will battle for survival and the lives of countless Americans.

Deception by Lillian Duncan is available from Pelican Book Group as both an ebook and a paperback.

2 thoughts on “Guest Blogger: Author Lillian Duncan

  1. Lillian… I think mystery/suspense stories have a unique thing going for them. While others must first and foremost “hook” a reader, the mystery/suspense readers will pick up almost any storyline simply because their enjoyment comes mostly from trying to solve a puzzle. But, my goodness, the brain-power it takes to think up one of those!

    I remember during my teaching days, while helping children pick out books from the library, hearing the question, “Is this a puzzle book?” and seeing eyes light up if the answer was, “Oh, yes. One of the very best, too.” Oh, what a gift it is to be able to think these things up, in a way that allows you to cast spiritual seeds into such fertile ground! Can’t wait to read DECEPTION because, it just so happens, I am one of those kind of readers, too.

    And hello, Elizabeth… nice to see you, today, too!

Leave a Reply

