Interview with Inspirational Romance Author Clare Revell

Please welcome my fellow Pelican Book Group author Clare Revell!

E.A.: Welcome, Clare! Please tell us a little about yourself.

Clare: I’m married with three (almost) teenagers. I live in the UK and am also a registrar for my church.

E.A.: Your new book, After the Fire, releases today. Why don’t you tell us a little about the book?

Clare: Blurb
After the Fire cover art
Private Investigator, Freddie Flynn, wants nothing to do with the man who left her fifteen years ago, or the God he left her for. Especially if the reports of corruption within the high ranking levels of the company are true.

Finding missionary life unfulfilling, Jason Bryant returns to Headley Cross and takes a position in the same firm as Freddie. Wanting to make amends, he is halted by a file which states she’s a traitor.

Thrown together on a case that could cost them everything, including their lives, can they see beyond their hurt and work together? Is all lost in the fire? Or will they find forgiveness in the still small voice of love.

Trailer:

My publisher commissioned a book trailer which can be seen here
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HPABVBmdKAQ&feature=youtu.be

E.A.: What inspired you to write this story?

Clare: It was a piece of my sister’s homework. She had to write a story based on a list of items found in a box. I’d copied out the list and shoved it in a file. I found it a couple of years ago and the muse hit and After The Fire was the result.

E.A.: How fun! Sometimes a writing challenge can lead to great things. What is your favorite scene from the book?

Clare: The problem is there are so many, I can’t just pick one. At one point I had two extracts as I couldn’t choose between them. So probably go with the extract

She paused. “I’m sorry, Jason. I shouldn’t have said all that stuff, and I shouldn’t have been rude to you. I suppose you called the office and told the boss I’m working the forbidden case?”

“Now why would I do that?” He looked at her over the coffee cup. His tone was abrupt, and she knew he was mad at her.

“Because you’re the vice president, and I’m defying orders.”

Jason gave her a long hard look. “Yes I am, and yes you are. But no, I haven’t rung the office. I rang the boss before I left work. He knows you’re undercover on one of the cases, but I didn’t tell him which, because I didn’t know at the time.”

“You can’t tell him.” Fear knotted her stomach, and the tiny bit of sandwich she’d eaten felt like a ten-pound rock.

“Why not? Because he specifically said to leave the Rafferty case alone?”

“Partly. I can’t tell you. I’m sorry. You have to trust that I have a very good reason.”

Jason ate silently and finished his lunch, so deep in thought that Freddie could almost see the cogs turning in his mind. For the first time in her career, she had crossed the line and was dragging someone else down with her.

E.A.: Ooh, I love this excerpt! Now that you have everyone intrigued, where can readers purchase a copy of After the Fire?

Clare: http://www.pelicanbookgroup.com/ec/after-the-fire

E.A.: Do you have any writing projects underway that you would like to share with readers?

Clare: I’m currently working on a series of seven novels, based around the nursery rhyme Monday’s Child. Each book centers around a hero or heroine who fits that particular character trait. Only these being romantic suspense its not as simple as it sounds. With the help of my editors, we changed the poem to fit the books, each line becoming a cryptic tagline.

Monday’s Child must hide for protection,
Tuesday’s Child tenders direction
Wednesday’s Child grieves for his soul
Thursday’s Child chases the whole
Fridays Child is a man obsessed
Saturday’s Child might be possessed
And Sunday’s Child on life’s seas is tossed
Awaiting the Lifeboat that rescues the lost.

E.A.: I can’t wait to learn more about this series! That poem definitely ignites the imagination. Where can readers connect with you and learn more about all of your books?

Clare: That would be my website. www.revell124.plus.com/clarerevell
There are covers, blurbs and so on for all my books, as well as silly pages my youngest daughter insisted I put up.

E.A.: Is there anything else you would like to add?

Clare: Thank you for having me 🙂

E.A.: It’s been a pleasure having you here, as always.

Be sure to check out the review of After the Fire on my book blog, The West Corner Reviews!

7 thoughts on “Interview with Inspirational Romance Author Clare Revell

  1. Lovely blog ladies! Clare, I’m so sorry I haven’t been able to help you promote yet. I’m on vacation for the next few days, but when I’m home, I’ll be glad to put the word out. Can’t wait to read After the Fire! Blessings!!

Leave a Reply

