Things I’ve Learned as an Author

© Ivashkova | Stock Free Images & Dreamstime Stock Photos

As you may know, I’ve been writing for years. Along the way, I’ve learned quite a bit about writing and publishing. Here are ten of the things I’ve learned as an author:

1.    No matter how many stories you write, you will always have more ideas.

2.    If you write a story because the theme is popular, you’ll have a much harder time with it than if you write the story because you love it.

3.    Deadlines will either be your best friend or your worst enemy.

4.    Promotion is a way of life…your life, not your publisher’s.

5.    No matter how perfect your story is when you receive a contract, the editor will always find things that need improvement.

6.    Bad reviews are a part of an author’s life. Don’t let them get you down—write another book for your fans.

7.    Every release day is exciting, not just the first.

8.    Every new contract is worth celebrating.

9.    Writer’s block happens. Your job is to blow that block to bits.

10.    Publishing is subjective. One editor hates what another loves.

Come back next week for more of the things I’ve learned as an author!

3 thoughts on “Things I’ve Learned as an Author

  1. I agree with all of your list! 🙂 When I first started, I remember being afraid that I’d never think up another great book idea… that this would be the bottom of the barrel. Now I look back on that and think I was cute. 😉

Leave a Reply

