New Year, New Opportunities

The start of a new year triggers something in the minds of many people, and they feel the need to make New Year’s resolutions. By February, a lot of those resolutions have fallen by the wayside, left behind as the chaos called life interferes with the best intentions.

I used to be one of those people who made resolutions each year, but each worthy goal was buried under the rest of my life by February or March. Once buried, I never seemed to be able to resurrect those resolutions.

So, this year I’m doing something new. instead of making resolutions that are likely to fail, I’m going to take small steps throughout the year to achieve mini-goals. How is that different from making a resolution and working toward it, you ask?

Well, for one thing, it’s already the second week of January and I haven’t resolved to meet any particular major goal by the end of the year. Yes, there are things I’d like to accomplish this year, but I’m flexible on those. After all, there’s always next year.

The biggest difference between my mini-goals and a resolution is that these mini-goals aren’t necessarily steps to achieving a larger goal. They aren’t even necessarily connected to each other. For example, one of my mini-goals is to clean out my inbox. Another is to finish the revisions on a manuscript and submit it.

I don’t have all my min-goals planned out for the year. Beyond the two I’ve mentioned, I only have one more planned. But that’s where the fun comes in. Instead of having one big goal I’m working toward, I have the freedom to accomplish so many different things this year. The possibilities are endless, which makes mini-goals much more flexible than any resolution I’ve ever made.

The year ahead is full of new opportunities to do any number of things. What do you hope to accomplish in 2013?

Leave a Reply

