Weary, burdened, and in need of rest

I’m feeling philosophical today. Thanks to some recent events, a Bible verse sprang to mind and demanded I pay attention.

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.” ~ Matthew 11:28 (NIV)

How many of us can relate to the “weary and burdened” part? I know I can at times. Life is hard, and at times it can seem downright impossible to succeed. But despite the weariness the burdens of life causes, Jesus promises us rest if we will just turn to him. Let him take the burden from your shoulders and help you alone. He is so much stronger than us, and His strength is made perfect in our weakness. What does this mean? Simply put, when we’re at our weakest, His strength shines through and lifts us up.

So, if you’re feeling weak and burdened, take it to God. Let Him help you carry your burdens and give you the rest you need. With Jesus by your side, helping you along the way, the road of life becomes much easier to travel.

Photo of tired man sitting at a computer
Image courtesy of imagerymajestic / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” ~ Matthew 11:28-30 (New International Version)

 

Leave a Reply

