Blog Tour

Thanks to M.M. over at Feeling Nosey? for inviting me to join this blog tour. Be sure to hop over there to find out what she and I.B. Nosey are up to now!

Now on to the questions I’ve been invited to answer.

1. What are you working on right now?

I’m in the process of revising an upper middle grade/YA novel.

2. How does it differ from other works in its genre?

Well, for one thing the protagonist is an autistic girl. The story gives an inside glimpse of how an autistic experiences the world and the challenges and misunderstandings it can create.

3. Why do you write what you do?

I love to give readers a look into issues they may not experience otherwise. Nearly everyone has heard of things like autism and PTSD, but most people don’t know what that means to the person who has those diagnoses or their families and friends. Through my writing, I try to help readers understand what it means while giving them an entertaining read.

4. How does your writing process work?

I think of a situation or a vague idea for a character and then start on a journey of “What if…?” As the ideas coalesce and evolve in my mind, the characters also grow. Sometimes they’ll take over the story and it goes in a direction I hadn’t originally imagined. It can be difficult to write as the ideas come, but it’s a lot of fun to watch the story unfold the same way a reader does.

~~

The blog tour continues next week, December 2. Look for a post from my fellow Astraea Press author Kelly Martin.

Leave a Reply

