Interview with Author Alison Stanley

Please welcome author Alison Stanley to The West Corner! We swapped interviews, and I’m happy to have her here today. If you want to check out my interview on her blog, you can find it here.

Without further ado, let’s get to Alison’s interview.

Tell us a little about yourself.

Alison Stanley author photoI have been married for 8 years (time flies!) and I have two delightful little girls who are 6 and 4 years old. We live in Sydney, Australia.
I work full time, and I’m also studying this year. Some people think I’m crazy!
In my spare time, I enjoy writing novels. I also love to read. I have too many hobbies and not enough spare time 🙂

Please tell us about your latest release.

My latest book, Trust Me Twice, is an inspirational romance book based in Australia. The story follows Alana Johnston, a talented interior designer, who returns to her hometown in the country for Christmas and bumps into the last person she ever wanted to see again – her ex-best-friend Zac Whitehouse.

Alana’s first instinct is to hide from him behind her hard exterior, but he slowly starts to soften her heart. When she ends up stranded with Zac in the middle of the biggest natural disaster in years, she is forced to make a decision. Is she able to trust Zac again after the hurt he caused her, and will her faith in God be restored?

Particularly aimed at teens and young adults, although versatile enough for all ages to enjoy, this book gives encouragement to those feel that God has let them down.

Where can readers purchase a copy of your book?

Trust Me Twice is available as both paperback and e-book. You can find it on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, iBookstore, Kobo and many other retailers.

What inspired you to write this book?

As a Christian, I know that God has a plan for my life, but when things gets tough, it is easy to feel lost or like God doesn’t care. I have seen God at work through difficult circumstances in my own life, and I wanted to share that hope with others through my book.

Alana was a minor character in my first book, Second Chances, and I was curious to find out her story. She seemed kind of mysterious to me, and as I wrote, I got to see her story unfold. It was fun.

What made you want to be a writer?

Until about 2 years ago, the thought had never even crossed my mind. Then there was one night when I was feeling energetic and I’d run out of good books to read, so I thought “Hey, why don’t I try and write my own book; the kind of book I’d like to read.” This is where Second Chances started. It was just an experiment, but as I spent the next 12 weeks getting lost in the lives of my characters, I realised that writing was something that filled me with joy.

What is your favorite part of writing?

Like you, I am also a bit of a pantser (flying by the seat of my pants). I general have a brief synopsis that summarises the main characters and conflicts, but I love the feeling of typing onto the blank screen and seeing my stories come to life. There are so many times I’ll sit back and think – “Wow, I totally didn’t see that coming.” I almost feel as if my characters are writing their own story and I’m just the conduit.

What advice would you give to aspiring writers?

I would tell them not to put too much pressure on themselves to be the next big bestselling author. Writing is about connecting with readers. When it becomes purely about technique, marketing and making money, I think a writer loses out, and so do their readers.

If you had to pick a theme song for you book, what would it be and why?

Ooh, good question!  ‘Gravity’ cover by Brittany Cairns. I listened to this many times when I was writing my book.

Where can readers learn more about you and your books?

They can visit my blog where I write about all kinds of things, or ‘like’ my author page on Facebook, or follow me on Twitter (@alisonwrites).

Is there anything else you would like to add?

Thanks so much for the opportunity.

Thanks for being here today! Readers, be sure to check out the blurbs and gorgeous covers for Alison’s books below.

~~

About the Author

Alison Stanley is a working mum, living in Sydney, Australia, with her husband and two young daughters. In her spare time she writes inspirational romance books for adults and teens. She published her first book, ‘Second Chances’, in 2012, and her second, ‘Trust Me Twice’, in 2013. She is now working on her third and fourth books.

Alison’s passion for writing has grown out of a love for reading. She enjoys a wide range of authors, both Christian and secular. She also enjoy playing music, exploring new holiday destinations, planning home renovation projects (and sometimes attempting them), and viewing the world through the eyes of her children.

To connect with Alison, visit her on Facebook – www.facebook.com/AlisonStanleyChristianFiction, or follow her on Twitter – http://twitter.com/alisonwrites.

To find out more, visit www.alisonstanleychristianfiction.wordpress.com

~~

Second Chances cover artBlurb

Even as a child, Rachel had her whole life mapped out – study teaching, marry the perfect guy, have some kids and be a stay at home mum. With two different guys after her attention, Rachel must make a choice – will she choose rebellious single dad Nate or sensible youth leader Steven?

Meanwhile, Hannah is on top of the world, engaged to be married to the love of her life, until a chance encounter with someone from her past threatens to take away her happiness. Will her relationship survive when the secret she has been keeping for so many years is uncovered?

As these best friends lean on God and each other through different trials, they both experience God’s forgiveness and his provision of second chances.

~~

Trust Me Twice cover artBlurb

From the day they were both born, Alana and Zac were best friends,  until an incident on a school camp causes Alana to push Zac away and to doubt God. Ten years later, Alana returns to her home town of Oakley and runs into Zac again. He is now a famous TV star and super-cute, but can she forgive him for hurting her all those years ago? While stranded alone with him in the middle of a natural disaster, she must decide whether to open her heart and trust Zac, and God, again.

~~

Where to Find Alison’s Books

One thought on “Interview with Author Alison Stanley

Leave a Reply

