News and Updates

It’s been a while since I posted an update of all the news in my writing life (and otherwise). It’s been a busy, exciting year so far. As I’m sure you know by now, I had four releases in the first two months of the year — Red: A Weekly Devotional by various Pelican Book Group authors, Love and Diamonds a romance anthology by various Astraea Press authors, Bogotá Blessings (part of the Passport to Romance series from Pelican Book Group), and Wounds of the Heart (short prequel to the Veteran Hearts series). Since then, I’ve stayed busy with writing, revising, edits, and another release at the end of July. That’s on top of the rest of life, which as we all know tends to be crazy on a good day.

 

news

 

My most recent release is also my first YA novel. Different was published by Astraea Press on July 22. The main character, Jezebel Smith, is autistic and goes through some major changes. It was a tough one to write, but I loved the opportunity to explore the world through the eyes of an autistic character again. The book has received some great comments from readers, which I’m absolutely thrilled about. I hope you’ll check out Different and let me know what you think! (Blurb and links are at the bottom of this post.)

This summer brought more good news from Astraea Press. They offered me a contract for my Christmas novella, Running from Christmas. After plenty of happy dancing, I signed the contract. Running from Christmas is an inspirational romance with an army veteran as the heroine. It was an eye-opening experience writing this particular character, and I can’t wait to share my first female veteran main character with you!

At the beginning of July, my new website finally went live. It was a long, tedious, frequently confusing process for me to re-design the thing since it was my first attempt at creating a website design from scratch, but I’m pleased with the final product. If you haven’t already visited it, I’d love for you to check it out and let me know what you think. Even if you have seen my new site, I’d still love to hear from you! Suggestions are always welcome and may be implemented during future updates.

photo of a shepherd mix puppy
Cody playing with a bug. — Copyright © 2014 E.A. West

In other news, I adopted a puppy almost a month ago. He’s a feisty little sweetheart who’s growing like a weed. His feet are huge! Since he’s a mixed breed (German shepherd/Alaskan malamute/red heeler mix), it’s fun trying to figure out just how big he’s going to be. Cody is a smart pup who learns fast and is a creative little guy. While I love the smart dogs, this one has found about a million ways to get himself in trouble… and he’s not quite twelve weeks old! He keeps me busy and drives Paisley (my three-year-old mutt) crazy, but he’s a loved part of the family. At this point, I’m not sure how we got along without him.

I think that’s all the major news for now. For more up-to-the-minute updates, check out my Facebook page. I’m on there nearly every day and post information, news, puppy pictures, and other fun stuff. Hope to see you there!

As promised, here’s the info on Different:

Different cover artBack Cover Blurb

Jezebel Smith is different. She can’t talk, she doesn’t look like anyone in her family, and no matter what she does it’s always the wrong thing. God accepts her for who she is, but He’s the only one who does. Then she finds an unconscious man in her favorite cave, and her life is turned up-side down. New people and new rules collide with the old, leaving Jezebel unsure of which set of rules apply to her life. When the strangers in town attempt to help her out of the nightmare she’s grown up in, it promises to change her life forever.

 

~~

Different is available from Amazon, Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and Smashwords. Check out an excerpt on my website.

~~

Leave a Reply

