Guest Blogger – Author Krysten Lindsay Hager

Please welcome my fellow Astraea Press author Krysten Lindsay Hager! She’s here today to tell us about her book bucket list.

My Book Bucket List by Krysten Lindsay Hager

Every so often, I get tagged in one of those social media games where people ask you to check off how many classics you’ve actually read off some list of 100 of the great books of all time. I was an English major. I should have a perfect score—right? Not exactly. Well, if I’m honest, I can speed read, I have been known to dabble in Cliff Notes in a crunch (don’t judge me, you’ve seen your share of those bright yellow stripe-y books yourself), and I could always absorb just enough info about a book in a class to skim through and gain a basic understanding of a novel. To put it mildly, college was not always a place where you could take the time to enjoy a classic when you were just trying to get through it to pass an exam or write a paper. And don’t get me started on when the literature categories come up on Jeopardy! People expect me to know the answers and I get the snarky comments about it all the time. All. The. Time.

So I’ve decided that it’s time to put my money where my mouth is (that’s normally where chocolate goes) and create a book bucket list for myself. I’m going to just start with just five because that seems doable. And I’m not going to put on anything that seems like I should read it if it really doesn’t apply to me. Like my eighth grade character Landry, in True Colors, The Call of the Wild did/does nothing for me and therefore Jack London need not apply here.

Now before I start, please don’t judge me and say in disbelief, “You never read that? Really?” because there are some books that were assigned and I don’t know how to explain it other than to say that the story didn’t stick with me. I can’t remember the plot, characters, etc. I know I read it, I remember turning the pages, yet if you were to quiz me on it I’d fail. Yes, Persuasion, I’m looking in your direction.

So here, in no particular order is my Book Bucket List:

  1. War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy. This one seems like I’m taking on too much, doesn’t it? You’re probably thinking, no, this is above her, but hear me out. I did love the movie and I got very into Anna Karenina and I do like Russian lit, so this might be doable. If nothing else the sheer size of it will come in handy should I need to kill a spider.
  2. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen. Somewhere along the line I got the reputation for being a huge Jane Austen fan. I guess I must have made a comment or something that implied that over the years, but while I’ve had Sense and Sensibility and Persuasion assigned in class, I’m pretty sure this one never was. I know the basic idea of it, seen a few remakes of it, but read it? Nope.
  3. This Side of Paradise by F. Scott Fitzgerald. I love Scott. LOVE him, but never finished this one. So if I’m going to call him my literary boyfriend then I better read it. Otherwise it’s like I’m cheating on him and I refuse to betray him that way.
  4. The Return of the Native by Thomas Hardy. My main reason for putting this on the list is that my dad loved this book when he was assigned it in class years ago. In fact, he wanted to name me Eustacia Vye. My mom considered it thinking I could go by either, “Stacia,” or “Vye,” but in the end decided each roll call on the first day of school might be too much for me. I have the book sitting on my shelf upstairs and it’s about time to take it down and read it.
  5. Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier. See the movie and the remake, love the area and setting, so I feel this one should be included on the list. It sounds like the perfect cold weather, rainy day reading, doesn’t it?

And one bonus book, if I should find myself finishing those five. My good friend, David, who I lost almost three years ago, loved William Faulkner. He tried to get me to read, As I Lay Dying, for an online book club that we sadly never got to do. It was favorite, so I may tackle Faulkner in David’s honor.

So what are the books that would make it onto your book bucket list? I’d love to hear the titles, so please leave them in the comments!

True Colors cover artBlurb

Landry Albright just wants to be one of the interesting girls at school who always have exciting things going on in their lives. She wants to stand out, but also wants to fit in, so she gives in when her two best friends, Ericka and Tori, push her into trying out for a teen reality show modeling competition with them. Landry goes in nervous, but impresses the judges enough to make it to the next round. However, Ericka and Tori get cut and basically “unfriend” her on Monday at school. Landry tries to make new friends, but gets caught up between wanting to be herself and conforming to who her new friends want her to be. Along the way she learns that modeling is nowhere as glamorous as it seems, how to deal with frenemies, a new crush, and that true friends see you for who you really are and like you because of it.

~~

True Colors is available from Amazon US, Amazon UK, Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and Smashwords. Check out the book trailer here.

~~

About the Author

photo of author Krysten Lindsay Hager

Krysten Lindsay Hager is an author and book addict who has never met a bookstore she didn’t like. She’s worked as a journalist and also writes middle grade, YA, humor essays, and adult fiction. TRUE COLORS is her bestselling debut novel from Astraea Press. She is originally from Michigan and has lived in South Dakota, Portugal, and currently resides in Southern Ohio where you can find her reading and writing. She received her master’s in American Culture from the University of Michigan-Flint.

Connect with Krysten:

Website: http://www.krystenlindsay.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/KrystenLindsayHagerAuthor

Twitter: https://twitter.com/KrystenLindsay

5 thoughts on “Guest Blogger – Author Krysten Lindsay Hager

  1. Except for one, I’ve read the others. I am marking War and Peace as read, though I have to admit I skipped some of the ‘war’ parts and the very detailed descriptions 🙂

Leave a Reply

