Guest Post – Author Wendy May Andrews

Please welcome author Wendy May Andrews to The West Corner!

What I’ve learned since becoming an author

While I was writing my first book, I had no idea how much I didn’t know. I knew I had a lot to learn, but I thought it was all to do with craft – how to create more believable characters, deepen conflict, engage the reader. Yes, all that is, of course, very important, I would even say the most important, but after that book got a contract and I continued to write more books, I found out what else I needed to learn.

As an author, the writing is just the beginning. First there’s the editing. I’m rather embarrassed to admit that I didn’t even know what Track Changes was! My first set of edits had to be done twice because of that (sigh). It also turns out that I have a HUGE comma weakness. I have had to read scores of articles about the proper use of the comma. My first line editor nearly quit on me due to my lack of commas. Editors are a writer’s best ally.

I had also never been into social media before so figuring out Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and Tsu all posed various levels of frustration. Thankfully they are reasonably user friendly and I am slowly getting hooked on each and every one of them. Previously, I couldn’t understand articles I would read about the need to limit your time online chatting. Now I get it and am starting to look into various apps that will cut off your online access for predetermined lengths of time – another lovely invention for writers!

My most recent technological education was with Rafflecopter. If you haven’t heard of it before, it’s a means for getting people to perform various tasks in order to be entered to win a prize. Tasks can be as simple as answering a poll or signing up to follow me on Twitter. Rafflecopter.com is remarkably user friendly, but unfortunately, while I was trying to set it up I was also dealing with computer problems (double sigh). But it is finally all set and ready to go. If you’d like to check it out and enter to win a $25 Amazon card, visit my website.

I never would have thought being an author would be so educational. But it really is the best job ever! I can’t wait to see what I’m going to learn tomorrow, next week, next month, next year…

About the Author

photo of author Wendy May AndrewsWendy May Andrews has been in love with the written word since she learned to read at the age of five. She has been writing for almost as long but hasn’t been sharing those stories with anyone but her mother until recently. This is Wendy’s third book with Clean Reads.

Wendy can be found with her nose in a book in a cozy corner of downtown Toronto. She is happily married to her own real-life hero, who is also her best friend and favorite travel companion.

Being a firm believer that every life experience contributes to the writing process, Wendy is off planning her next trip.

She loves to hear from her readers and can be found at her website, on twitter or Facebook.

Connect with Wendy Online

Website: www.wendymayandrews.com

Facebook: www.facebook.com/WendyMayAndrews

Twitter: www.twitter.com/WendyMayAndrews

Instagram: @wendymayandrews

The Debutante Bride cover artBook Description

Miss Elizabeth Dunseith, Beth to her friends, grew up in genteel poverty, happy despite her abusive father and weak mother. When her father sells her to the highest bidder in order to pay off his gambling debts, she fears what her future will hold but is relieved to get away from home with her new, handsome husband.

Lord Justin Fulton, Earl of Westfield, is confused by the contradictory behavior of his purchased bride. One moment she is haughty and cool, the next she is warm and endearing. When his sister refuses to help establish his new bride in Society, Justin turns to a friend’s wife to show Beth the best way to navigate the politics of the ton.

Their growing attraction just seems to confuse matters even further. Will these two be able to see past their differences to make it to happily ever after?

The Debutante Bride is available from Amazon and other online retailers.

Leave a Reply

